enough

The following is an anonymous submission.

i have always loved mornings
sundays and brunch and impossibilities, too
the rising sun and the light it begets
the birds and their songs and feathers
and the hope that embraces my thoughts
but perhaps my favourite thing early morning
has always been your voice telling me to get out of bed
your sombre face when you read the news
your existence like a roof that keeps storms away
you both made mornings a place
a safe haven
a blessing
and i can’t thank you enough

i have always loved making your tea
the scent the colour the feelings
the times i’d put too much milk and you’d have it anyway
the times i’d pour too much in a cup and you’d finish it anyway
the times i’d make it too bitter and you’d enjoy it anyway
but perhaps my favourite thing about evening brewing
has always been infusing comfort and warmth into one taste
knowing that you’d both be there every day
waiting for a cup
knowing
you’d be there
and i can’t thank you enough

i have always loved late night drives
the still busy roads the lights the being alive
the ice cream i’d get too much of
the stories you’d tell me so lovingly
the laughter you’d share with mum and us
the unbrokenness those moments would grant me
but perhaps my favourite thing about these small adventures
has always been the growth of my faith in you
your presence a shelter
your hand always giving
your love unwavering
your eyes always kind
and my mind always at ease
knowing i have you all
and i can’t thank you enough

nostalgia’s just a word but trust is much more
it took years for me to realise that breadwinners don’t always stay
a picture on my wall takes me back
to all the toasts i’d burn and ‘don’t worry’s you’d say
and with my shoe laces in perpetually flawless knots
i’m always on time even when i try to leave late
your lessons forever engraved in my thoughts
you made me grateful for all the mistakes i’d make
and i can’t thank you enough

i can’t be sorry enough
for all the sorrys i never said
and i can’t thank you enough
for all the thank yous you’d never expect
and i can’t love you enough
for making me who i am

i can try
but never quite
enough

 

father's day

Leave a Reply

