My Reflection

BY: SYED USMAN ZIA, M.B.B.S., BATCH XX
PHOTO CREDITS: SIDRA KHALID KHAN, M.B.B.S., BATCH XX
How is it that every word that once made you feel alive seems to crumble down right in front of you?
How is it that every word that once fixed you is fighting against you… wanting to tear you apart into a million pieces?
How is it that every sentence that once made you feel a thousand different emotions – all at once – do not want to be coherent any longer?
Why are these words jumping off the page, like my favourite nemesis, looking to put me down one more time, as I pen down these words…my words.
The puzzle didn’t fit, or it wasn’t meant to be blended into a perfect core.
It’s time for a new beginning.
Love me for what I do, not for who I am.
I am the antagonist disguised as the hero.
I am the protagonist disguised as the villain.
I am everything that you may never know.
And this is not who I am.
This is just a part of my reflection.
About the author: I usually write across gender so sometimes readers presume I’m a lady.
IMG-20170406-WA0010
PHOTO CREDITS: SIDRA KHALID KHAN, M.B.B.S., BATCH XX
Leave a Reply

