Anxiety

SOURCE: GOOGLE

BY: DR. HAIDER A. NAQVI, PROFESSOR AT THE DEPARTMENT OF PSYCHIATRY, ZIAUDDIN UNIVERSITY

“Stop your headlong rush to work,” I tell myself, “and remember to observe”.

Relaxing and enjoying the interaction with passersbys, friends going together, apologizing for the wrong turn while I speed to catch up (with presumed loss of time). A lady pushed a sudden break, giving way with a smile.

“What’s the rush?” ask the birds flying in the sky, moving in unison as one mind.

“Hold the tempest in your soul”, says the eagle perched up on a high rise.

As you pass along the sea side you see the tide flowing in; westward wind brings the small boats leisurely towards the deck. The mangrove forest reflects a mystical haze in the morning light. The Universe asks you to slow down and enjoy the beauty of the moment.

As I reach the clinic, my secretary sends in the first ‘client’. A distinguished looking lady in her late thirties, sits down with a frown on her face and with restless eyes she declares, ‘I have Anxiety Disorder. I just can’t relax.’

I smiled at her (and the Universe), saying, “Tell me about it!”

From Dr. Naqvi’s ‘Clinical Notes, Psychiatry.’


About the author: 
 An academic psychiatrist and fallible human being in a process of evolution.

Leave a Reply

