Forever / For ever

robert-frost
Amherst College, Massachusetts, U.S.A. PHOTO: BY THE AUTHOR

BY: AHAD KHATTAK, M.B.B.S., BATCH XXI
PHOTO CREDITS: AHAD KHATTAK, M.B.B.S., BATCH XXI

How long does Forever last?
For you and I, the world dictated
that it last
a month shy of three years
but in the fickleness of my heart
and foolishness of my mind
it lasted until the fire of the last
star
burnt out cold, and then some.
And that is what I said to you,
in a time that you and I will forget,
as our memories are devoured
by the sandstorm of time.
And as I walk through life now
a stranger, a drifter, a traveller;
I travel alone.
I feel your phantom presence at my
side
and I feel your slender fingers
entangled in mine. And I feel the
warmth
leave from my hand and try to warm yours
as if I could provide enough heat
to make you materialise at my side.
An apotheosis of my loneliness,
perhaps.
And I see the white winter skin of your face
in a white rose that I have come
across.
As I bathe my nostrils in its perfume
memories, long forgotten, awake
from their icy prisons
in my head where I hid them.
And I remember:
Nervous and sweating, a rose
passed
from my hand to yours
and your eyes lit up as your smile
touched them.
And so, foolishly, I said to you:
I will love you always.
And for ever.
About the author: Ahad Khattak’s eccentric skill set ranges from drawing to lock-picking and he thoroughly believes that the light of hope is the bane of all logic and sense in a human being.

One thought on “Forever / For ever

Leave a Reply

