Moments

 

received_10153730818917703

 

BY: SYED USMAN ZIA, M.B.B.S., BATCH XX

 

“When I was young I used to think that the heart is on the ‘left’ side of the body because it fails to make the ‘right’ decisions. Then life itself came forth with the fact, that, the right side of the brain controls the left side of the body and vice versa.
My thought process was an illusion. The mind can be negative at times; it’s biased, making us believe in situations that don’t exist. It’s something one might refer to as the ‘illusion of control’.
The heart is on the left side not because it isn’t right, it is there to teach us a lesson that every time you wander in search of answers, every time you have to make a decision, place your hand on the left side of your chest, close your eyes and imagine the tunnels of blood and how your chest heaves. Feel your heart beat… the whispers of which has faded away competing with the pandemonium of the surrounding world. Listen to what it is trying to utter.
As long as you are alive, you do what feels right, regardless of what the consequences would be.”

According to the medical facts, she was wrong and every part of me so wanted to correct her, considering the kind of guy I am. But, I didn’t…it was simple : there were 364 other days to be an absolute a**hole and it was after a span of almost two years that I found myself in the middle of a deep conversation with the most complex kind of the homosapien specie, i.e. a girl and because even if she was wrong in medical terms, I was wrong in life.

“And what about you?”

“A twenty one year old researcher…”

“Boring!”

“I beg your pardon?”

“I mean what is your part of the story?”

“Umm… I’ve always wondered that.. if every organ in our body has a functional unit, then what’s the functional unit of life?”

“Moments.” She smiled.

And in that smile, I finally understood what life really was… moments.

 

About the author : I usually write across gender so sometimes readers presume I’m a lady.

 

Leave a Reply

