No Unordinary Conversation

BY : RABIA ZAFAR, PHARM.D., BATCH XI


unordinary conversation

 

 

“So what’s new?”, he asked.

“Hmm … I just started a new book” I replied, taking a sip a coffee.

“You and your musings!” he sighed.

“Excuse me, my ‘musings’ always save you AND give you the best advice, so don’t curse it”, I scowled at him and he responded with a knowing wink.

“So what’s your manuscript about?”

It took me a while to get back in my senses. “It’s all about life … you know, everything about life?”.

He was astonished.

I smirked and shrugged, “yeah, I guess”. “I don’t believe you!”, came the teasing retort.

“You can test me” I challenged.

“Okay, then, I will ask you some questions.” He stroked his beard.

“Shoot”.

He started to think and then ask, “first tell me why we face difficulties when we grow up? Why do people say that childhood is better than adulthood?”

“Good question! By the way, I didn’t know you had a brain”. I smiled and he chuckled in response. “Now coming towards your answer – which is quite simple” He raised his eyebrows. “Growing up seems difficult because it gives you experience and allows you to mature”, I explained, smugly.

“Okay… so according to you, difficulties and problems in life allow us to attain maturity, right?”, he confirmed.

“Yes”.

“But what if we worked for one thing, sacrificed for one thing and still didn’t get it? And the other person got it so easily, even though we deserved it more than them and we worked so hard for it?” His tone betrayed the sadness in his heart.

I shook my head. “It’s not like that, maybe he yearns for something you already have, maybe your blessings mean the world to him, life is about being patient. And even if your wishes aren’t fulfilled, don’t worry! God has better plans for you. Everything happens for a reason, my love”.

He nodded in acknowledgement. “I want to ask one last important question”. After a pause, he added, “for me” – I frowned, and he continued – “what if someone doesn’t feel about you the way you feel for them, even though your heart bleeds for them” and in that instance, I knew this was the reason he wanted to talk to me so badly.

I smiled, “Because you might have done the same thing with somebody else – and there is a natural law ‘what you sow, so shall you reap’. So this is what has actually happened.
He grinned, “you know everything about me; you really are my best friend”

“That, I know” I replied with a wink.

About the author : I eat everything and yet  I want to get in shape.

Leave a Reply

